USRowing Club of the Year Award



The 1,200-plus member organizations of USRowing are the foundation of our sport’s growth. Community-based youth and masters rowing are increasing by leaps and bounds thanks to outreach programs on the local level. Participation in our national regattas enhances those events’ overall competitive experience, while helping build enthusiasm and creating performance goals among newer rowers of all ages back home. Additionally, our sport could not thrive without our member clubs “stepping up to the plate” and giving back on a regional and national level by hosting regattas and clinics, recruiting and training referees and coaches, and participating in the governance and leadership of their sport.

Because we believe that the hard work, volunteer dedication and pride in your club’s accomplishments should be shared as a best practice on the national level, the United States Rowing Association has instituted a Club of the Year Award to be presented at the USRowing Annual Convention.

Criteria: All USRowing member organizations are eligible to receive the Club of the Year Award. Points will be awarded to clubs for dedication to excellence in competition, the growth of rowing in their community, and the promotion and safety of the sport. Award criteria include:

  • Performance
  • Community Outreach
  • Service to Rowing
  • USRowing Participation
  • Technology & Communications
  • Safety

When: Nominations for the 2015 Club of the Year Award must be completed received at USRowing headquarters in Princeton, New Jersey, no later than 5:00 p.m. on October 16, 2015.

Awards: The winner will be notified by November 1, 2015, and will be honored at the Annual Awards Reception at the USRowing Convention in Philadelphia. The winning club will receive a year’s free organizational membership in USRowing, a banner to display at their boathouse and a press release on the USRowing website.

The USRowing Club of the Year Award will recognize the outstanding efforts of clubs to improve rowing opportunities for their members and also involve their local communities. The winner will serve as an example to the rowing community and the general public of outstanding organizational leadership, involvement in USRowing, competition opportunities, community service, safety, performance and volunteer development. We encourage rowing clubs of all sizes to pursue excellence and to submit their nomination for the 2015 Club of the Year Award.

2015 Club of the Year Application

Past Winners:

2014 - Vesper Boat Club

2013 - Three Rivers Rowing Association

2012 - Community Rowing, Inc.

2011 - Princeton National Rowing Association

2010 - Three Rivers Rowing Association

2009 - Community Rowing, Inc.

2008 - Not Awarded

2007 - Carnegie Lake Rowing Association

2006 - Marin Rowing Association

2005 - Oak Ridge Rowing Association

2004 - Community Rowing, Inc.

2003 - San Diego Rowing Club

2002 - Three Rivers Rowing Association

    United 250x250
    AmazonSmile 250x250
    Connect-A-Dock Rowing
Kinesio Logo