USRowing Announces 2015 Convention Award Winners

by Sarah Marshall, | Oct 12, 2015
USRowing is proud to announce the first four award winners who will be honored at the USRowing Annual Convention in Philadelphia, Pa. on December 5.

USRowing is proud to announce the first four award winners who will be honored at the15967681415_d7b8d968aa_z USRowing Annual Convention in Philadelphia, Pa. on December 5. 

John J. Carlin Service Award – Jack Galloway
Clayton Chapman Award – Harry Nyce
Man of the Year – Gregg Hartsuff
Ernestine Bayer Award (formerly the Woman of the Year) – Megan Kalmoe
Joan Zandbergen "Mama Z" Award – Jess McAlear

The John J. Carlin Service Award, awarded this year to Jack Galloway, honors an individual who has made significant and outstanding commitments in support of rowing.

With a rowing career that spans over 40 years, Jack Galloway graduated from La Salle College in 1957 and Georgetown University Law School in 1963. While a member of the La Salle crew, Galloway was a part of the historic varsity eight that would be crucial in La Salle winning the Dad Vail Regatta six times in eight seasons. Galloway and his fellow crewmates were recently inducted into the La Salle Hall of Fame.

Galloway would go on to have an incredibly successful career as an attorney after spending several years as a naval aviation line officer in the Pacific Fleet. Galloway has served as the Assistant United States Attorney in Philadelphia, the Gulf Oil Corporation and currently consults for a major natural gas distribution company engaged in new environmental ventures, including the decontamination of dredged material from the port of New York and New Jersey harbor.  He has also provided consultation for investor owned energy development companies engaged in several new eastern power projects. Galloway is a founder of Chesapeake Beneficial material Corporation that expects to be engaged in the decontamination of dredged material in the Chesapeake Bay area.

Serving as the Chairman of the Dad Vail Regatta Organizing Committee for more than 20 years, Galloway also recently completed his fourteenth year as the high school rowing coach for the Shipley School in Bryn Mawr, Pa.

The Clayton W. Chapman Award is presented annually to an individual who best emulates Chapman’s 30-year stewardship of the Eastern Sprints and IRA Championship Regattas. The awardee is an individual who has consistently served in behind-the-scene administrative roles that have previously gone unrecognized.

The recipient may be an athlete, coach, referee, administrator, volunteer, regatta organizer, sponsor, vendor or any other individual involved in the staging of a regatta. Harry Nyce is this year’s Clayton Chapman award winner.

Known as the “Godfather of Race Timing," Bob “Harry” Nyce has been an integral part of the rowing community and regattas in the Northeast for five decades. Nyce has held such titles as the varsity coach of the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, course director for the 1979 USRowing National Championships and has held the responsibility of course director for the EARC Sprints, the National Invitational Championship Regatta and numerous races throughout the Northeast for many years.

Nyce is most well known for his development and implementation of the timing and results systems for multiple regattas including the Head of the Charles Regatta for over 20 years. In addition, Nyce also developed the software that has become a cornerstone of the analysis matrix used by the IRA Fairness Commission.

An active member of the Quinsigamond Regatta Association since 1977, Nyce epitomizes all that the Clayton Chapman Award embodies with his humble attitude.

The 2015 Man of the Year Award recognizes outstanding contributions to men’s rowing and/or to an outstanding man in rowing. This year’s recipient is Greg Hartsuff.

Hartsuff2015 copyThe all-time winning club coach in the history of college rowing, Gregg Hartsuff led his Michigan Wolverine’s varsity eight to the highest overall win percentage (.9643) and highest victory percentage versus varsity opponents since 1994. Entering his 23rd season as the main man behind this successful program, Hartsuff has led his varsity eight to the highest finish at the IRA of any club team each year except two.

A key player in the formation of America Collegiate Rowing Association (ACRA) in 2007, Hartsuff served as the first president of the organization as it underwent forming of bylaws, rules and a philosophy that saw ACRA grow from a fledgling organization to a national championship that had over 1500 participants and 60 organization attend after his presidency ended in 2013.

Another highlight of his 2015 season included a gold medal victory at the World University Games in the men’s eight in Gwangju, South Korea in early July. 

The Ernestine Bayer Award, formerly Woman of the Year, recognizes outstanding contributions to women’s rowing and/or to an outstanding woman in rowing. Gold medalist from the 2015 World Rowing Championships four, Megan Kalmoe, is this year’s recipient of the award.

As three seat of USRowing’s first-ever gold standard crew for the women’s quadrupleKalmoe (2) copy sculls, Kalmoe goes above and beyond the call of duty for the sport she loves. The bronze medalist in the women’s quadruple sculls at the 2012 London Olympics and a finalist in the 2008 Beijing games, Kalmoe serves as the athlete representative to the USRowing High Performance Committee. Megan also will be awarded the Female Athlete of the Year Award at the fifth-annual Golden Oars Awards Dinner, scheduled for Thursday November 19 at the New York Athletic Club in New York City.

The Joan Zandbergen "Mama Z" Award is given to an USRowing official who has demonstrated sustained superior performance during the course of their career. The award is limited to referees with three to 10 years or service. Jess McAlear is the recipient of this year’s award.

After an active career as an official in the northeast region of the country, since moving to Philadelphia Jess McAlear has already made an impact on the mid-Atlantic region. Spending every weekend on the Schuylkill River, McAlear still finds the time to chief races in Saratoga and remain active in the ECAC. McAlear has kept incredibly busy these past few months as the chief referee at the AAC, the MAAC and the CAA Championships on Lake Mercer as well as officiating the 2015 Club and Masters Nationals, the Junior and Paralympic Trials and the Senior II Trials to name a few.

Between officiating duties, McAlear still finds time to race competitively on the masters level. 

For more information on this year's 2015 USRowing Convention Annual Awards Reception, click here

    AmazonLibrary 250x250
    College Blog Graphic
    EMC 250x250
Kinesio Logo