2016 U.S. Men’s Under 23 National Team Selection Camp Athletes Announced

by Sarah Marshall, | May 10, 2016
USRowing is pleased to announce that 36 athletes have been accepted to the 2015 U.S. Men’s Under 23 National Team Selection Camp to be held in Hanover, N.H. at Dartmouth College.
PRINCETON, N.J. - USRowing is pleased to announce that 36 athletes have been accepted to the 2016 U.S. Men’s Under 23 National Team Selection Camp, to be held in Hanover, N.H. at Dartmouth College.

The camp will be coached by Dartmouth College men's head coach Wyatt Allen, who will be assisted by Cornell University men's lightweight coach Chris Kerber. Allen and Kerber will head up the selection of the men’s eight and four that will compete at the World Rowing Under 23 Championships August 21-28 in Rotterdam, The Netherlands. 

Invitations to selection camp were based on performance on the 2015-16 National Team Ergometer Testing Protocol, coach recommendations, past performance in international and domestic racing, competitive performance during training sessions and the athlete’s ability to match the style and technique of the crew as determined by the designated coach. In the case of coxswains, invitations to selection camp were based on video and audio tapes of practice and race performances.

Accepted Camp Athletes:
Tristian Amberger - University of Wisconsin
Trevor Appier - Northeastern University
Greg Bitler - Brown University
Chris Carothers - Yale University
John  Carroll - Georgetown University
Greg Davis - Cornell University
Patrick Eble - Princeton University
Jacob Filby - University of Delaware
Kyle Flagg - University of California
Trey Francis - Princeton University
Spencer Furey - Dartmouth College
Andrew Gaard - University of Washington
Drew Gallagher - Cornell University
Jonathan Ghaul - George Washington University
Nate Goodman - Yale University
Andrew Griffin - University of Wisconsin
Julian Hagberg - United States Naval Academy
Cameron Heath - Loyola Marymount University
Austin Letorney - Hobart College
James Lueken - University of Wisconsin
Nick Mead - Princeton University
Finn Meeks - Brown University
Jake Mendelson - University of Pennsylvania
Robert Moffitt - Dartmouth College
Justin Murphy - University of California
Jacob Pihal - Northeastern University
Sam Poryanda - College of the Holy Cross
Anand Raesh - Brown University
Avery Reavill - Brown University
Brooks Reavill - Brown University
James Roen - University of Wisconsin
Ilia Savin - Cornell University
Phil Walczak - University of Washington
Alex Wallis - University of California
Sam Weeks - University of Wisconsin
John Wise - University of Wisconsin
Tim Tracey - United States Naval Academy

Wait List Athletes:
Michael Colella - Cornell University
Conor Coughlin - Columbia University
Ben Delaney - George Washington University
Cuyler Hamilton - Cornell University
Gabe Lane - University of California, San Diego
Dylan Raphael - University of California
David Sands - United States Naval Academy

About USRowing

USRowing is a nonprofit organization recognized by the United States Olympic Committee as the governing body for the sport of rowing in the United States. USRowing has 85,000 individual members and 1,300 member organizations, offering rowing programs for all. USRowing receives generous support from the National Rowing Foundation and its corporate sponsors and partners.

For more information, contact: USRowing Communications, (609) 751-0710,

    United 250x250
    Promotive 250x250
    May Madness Graphic
Kinesio Logo